About Us

  • To promote ourselves and our profession in a positive light by encouraging self-development and by promoting awareness of the profession
  • To have pride in ourselves as professionals and add value to the organisation in which we work by sharing relevant information and helping each other to acquire the tools to achieve professional success
  • To promote the mission of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA) and seek to elevate the status of female members as well as advance the best interests of our profession generally

Fiona Otika – President
Email: president@awcsonline.net
Fiona has been an AWCS committee member since 2013 and has held the roles of Treasurer, Vice President and is now President. She is currently Assistant Company Secretary at Universities Superannuation Scheme Limited (‘USSL’) and has over 9 years’ company secretarial experience in financial services. Fiona is responsible for implementing and managing the governance framework for all special purpose vehicles held by the USSL Group, across a number of jurisdictions. She began her company secretarial career at a private family office where she qualified as a Chartered Secretary in 2010. Fiona has worked as a Chartered Secretary at a number of financial institutions including BNP Paribas Securities Services and Octopus Investments.

Katie Ellis – Vice President
Email: president@awcsonline.net
Katie has been an AWCS committee member since 2013 and held the role of Treasurer during 2016 and is now Vice President. She is currently Assistant Company Secretary at Brewin Dolphin Holdings PLC with over seven years’ company secretarial experience. Katie began her career by providing company secretarial services to a variety of clients whilst she worked for Computershare Secretarial Services Limited. After which, she moved in-house and has worked for various listed companies including Amlin plc and KAZ Minerals PLC, where she gained experience of complex subsidiary governance, complex class one transactions, share plan management and dual listed companies. In her current role she is responsible for the effective management of all Boards and Committees, ensuring the Group’s compliance with listing, regulatory and governance requirements are met, as well as the day to day running of the Company Secretariat department.

Carly Brazier – Committee Secretary
Email: president@awcsonline.net
Carly joined the AWCS committee at the beginning of 2016 and was appointed committee secretary at the AGM in April 2016. Carly is currently Assistant Company Secretary at Novae Group plc and has over five years’ company secretarial experience in both listed and financial services companies.

Henal Patel – Membership Secretary
Email: membership@awcsonline.net
Henal joined the AWCS committee at the end of 2015 and was appointed committee member and membership secretary in 2016. Having completed her law degree and legal practice course, Henal made the decision to pursue a career as a chartered secretary and joined an accountancy firm to complete her training. Henal’s work experience is primarily in professional services and gets involved in a variety of projects from legal compliance to corporate restructures and business development. Henal is currently an Assistant Manager at Smith & Williamson LLP, a top 10 accountancy firm.

Tiana Joannou – Committee Member
Tiana joined the AWCS committee in 2015. Tiana is a Chartered Secretary with over 15 years’ experience in both PLC and law firms. For the last eight years, Tiana has been the Assistant Company Secretary forp First Quantum Minerals Ltd, a mid-tier Canadian listed mining company, at the London corporate office. Prior to that, she practised securities law at DuMoulin Black LLP and litigation at Church & Company, both boutique firms in Vancouver, Canada.

Beth Hargreaves – Treasurer
Email: president@awcsonline.net

Kim Hyun-Kyung – Committee Member

Dagmar Morávková – Committee Member

Louise Park – Committee Member
Louise joined the AWCS committee in 2013. Louise is a Chartered Secretary with over 15 years’ experience in public, private and not-for-profit companies both in the UK and overseas. Louise set up Virtual Company Secretary Limited in 2016 which provides part time secretarial support & advisory services to a wide variety of client companies.

Hina Patel – Committee Member

Maddie Scrafton – Committee Member


The Association of Women Chartered Secretaries changed its name from the ICSA Women’s Society at the 2006 AGM. The AWCS was originally formed to provide a platform for female members to contribute positively to the development of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA).

The first President of the AWCS was appointed in 1947. Although she was able to attend proceedings of council of the ICSA, she had to listen in from behind a curtain. Fortunately, times have moved on and female members are able to sit on the ruling body of the ICSA.

The AWCS has also refocused its aim with changing times making it still very relevant for female members of the ICSA. Its purpose is to promote those attributes that women bring to an organisation and provide a forum for members through self-help, shared education, support and networking.

Upcoming Events

  • Wed

    Section 166 and the rise of the Regulator

    6:00 pm

Latest News